Blogging is tough

September 13, 2009 at 2:28 pm | Posted in Professional Development | 2 Comments

A couple of weeks ago, a coworker of mine asked me why I quit blogging.  Honestly, I hadn’t thought a lot about it until he asked.  It’s weird with me… for a guy who loves the spotlight as much as I do, there are certain things about which I remain very self-conscious.  One of them is coming across as a know-it-all and I got to thinking, “who the heck really cares what I think about this stuff?”  Not wanting to come across as some guru on the mountain with the scratchy white beard, I just quit blogging.

Literally one day after the conversation with my coworker I received an email from an industry leading CEO whom I really respect.  It was just a couple sentence note asking what happened to the blog entries.  Weird timing.

I thought about it and realized that unless you’re in a VERY small minority of people in the world, it’s very little about the Thinker and more about the Thought.  Meaning, I don’t think anyone really cares about something I say because I say it.  But they may care very much about what I say because the topic and perspective is of interest to them for one reason or another.  Onward we go.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Funny, a couple of weeks ago I was checking your site and links. I thought you may have moved your blog somewhere else and I hadn’t updated. Glad to have you back!

  2. Ditto Tony’s thoughts!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.