sorry, the gate is locked

September 23, 2009 at 9:26 pm | Posted in Professional Development | 1 Comment
Tags:

Where I live in Texas, fences are mandatory.  Not just little fences either.  I’m talking about those big six-and-a-half foot planks. I guess somewhere along the line that became standard, so they’re everywhere.  (I hate them, but that’s another story.)

We have a company that treats our yard every month or so.   One day I forgot to unlock the gate.  I’m sitting there working in my home office and hear the guy outside working.   Later I check the bill that he had hung on the door and it says “Sorry we couldn’t do your back yard, the gate was locked.”  OK, so the gate was locked.  Just how much effort would it have taken for the guy to knock on the door to see if anyone was home?  And they charge you if they have to come back.

Now let’s look at another story.  Because the lawnmower gods hate me, I have broken yet another mower this year.  There’s a great family down the street with some high school boys.  Good kids, so I’ve been paying them to cut the grass.  I got an email today from the mom saying, “I hope you’re not mad, but the boys couldn’t get the gate unlocked so they decided to lift themselves and the mower over the gate.”  Mad?!?!  I was freakin’ ecstatic!

We’re going to encounter lots of locked gates in business and life.  Slack-jawed indifference walks way.  Ingenuity and work ethic finds a way.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great Blog!……There’s always something here to make me laugh…Keep doing what ya do 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

