A good idea for one … not many?

December 11, 2008 at 5:58 pm | Posted in Business | 2 Comments

I opened one of my trade mags today. Took it out of the plastic and then… well, then I couldn’t turn the pages. I hate when I can’t turn the pages. The reason I can’t turn the pages is because of inserts, outserts, wrappers, posters and that funky glue that holds papers together. I mean, that’s a real pet peeve of mine. So, I start de-cluttering it and ended up with the pile you see below

decluttered magazine

Somewhere in that pile of papers is my magazine, which turned out to be quite small once I pulled all the stuff out of it so that I could flip through the pages.  Now let me add a disclaimer — my company is responsible for contributing to the problem!  But, it seems like such a good idea at the time.  You have this vision of thousands of readers getting their new magazine and seeing your oh-so-special “appendage”, taking it out, oohing, and ahhing over it.  Scenes of Ralphie enter my mind when he dreams of turning in his essay. (If you haven’t seen a Christmas Story, you might not want to read my blog anymore! 😉

Maybe I’m in the minority.  Maybe other people do react positively to these things.  But for me, I have to say, they are beyond frustrating.  I will rip every one of them off before reading any article in the magazine.  We scream from the rooftops when we get invasive ads in our online experience.  I wonder how many complain to magazine companies?  Or maybe it’s accepted.  Oh, and one last point.  I’m in no danger of being called a “tree hugger” anytime soon, but I do care about the environment.  That pile on my floor… that times the thousands of magazines out there must ultimately leave a carbon footprint the size of Godzilla!

OK, I’m done ranting.  Nothing of any value in this post.  Just needed to vent — and rethink the budget dollars I allocate to these things!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I do the exact same thing with my fitness magazine! All those inserts drive me crazy, I refuse to even read them.

  2. I’ve had a similar pet peeve with this for many years. I’ve called the ritual of opening a magazine and removing all the extraneous material, except for one slip of paper to use as a bookmark, “deboning” because it reminds me so much of the arduous but crucial activity after fishing. And as you point out, Billy, I never pay attention to the marketing material itself.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

