be ready to walk alone

August 14, 2008 at 7:33 am | Posted in Business, Professional Development | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Having friends and a support network is great. The benefits are too many to list in simple blog post. But today I was thinking about the opposite situation. The times when you simply need to be prepared to walk alone.

I’ve often heard folks get very disappointed when nobody “has their back” during a controversial decision or discussion. Just recently, I sent out an email in response to something from our CEO. He initially sent it to about 20 people. I responded to the entire list with my thoughts, and five people supported me. Privately. That is, they responded to me directly with things like, “Way to go, big man!” or “I couldn’t agree more” but nobody posted that to the group. Within a day, I had the exact same thing happen to me again.

My first thoughts on them not backing me publicly were probably pretty typical, but then I realized, hey, it’s OK. In fact, it’s an opportunity. Along with the 1,304,102 other cliche’s coaches use is the one that says “Great accomplishments never come without great adversity.” It is risky to walk alone sometimes, but like most things, that risk can bring great reward — or great failure. Either way, if your convictions are strong, sometimes you can’t worry about who’s willing to do step out there with you.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hang in there, big man. Some people don’t want to do the reply-all thing to clutter up inboxes, so it might be a case of over-sensitivity to inbox load. (Trying to give ’em the benefit of the doubt.)

    Then again, they might just be yes-men. Ugh.

  2. “I couldn’t agree more”, but hey, please don’t post this comment publicly ok?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

